CILIP Carnegie Longlist

I cannot believe that it has been about 6 weeks since I finished a book! I feel like that might be my longest gap ever! I know that in that time I have started back at work, but also I have just been enjoying an amazing summer. Been one of hottest and longest in a long time!

2019 CILIP Carnegie longlistAnyway – while I still have two half finished books lying around my room I am excited this morning that the longlist for the Carnegie medals have been announced.

They are

2019 CILIP Carnegie Medal longlist (alphabetical by author surname):

1. The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (Electric Monkey)

2. Rebound by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile (Andersen Press)

3. The Colour of the Sun by David Almond (Hodder Children’s Books)

4. The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson, illustrated by Elisa Paganelli(Usborne Books)

5. The Weight of a Thousand Feathers by Brian Conaghan (Bloomsbury)

6. Moonrise by Sarah Crossan (Bloomsbury)

7. Norse Myths: Tales of Odin, Thor and Loki by Kevin Crossley-Holland, illustrated by Jeffrey Alan Love (Walker Books)

8. My Side of the Diamond by Sally Gardner (Hot Key Books)

9. Bone Talk by Candy Gourlay (David Fickling Books)

10. A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s Books)

11. A Different Boy by Paul Jennings, illustrated by Geoff Kelly (Old Barn Books)

12. The Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane, illustrated by Jackie Morris (Hamish Hamilton)

13. Hilary McKay’s Fairy Tales by Hilary McKay, illustrated by Sarah Gibb (Macmillan Children’s Books)

14. Things A Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls (Andersen Press)

15. The Astonishing Colour of After by Emily X.R. Pan (Orion’s Children’s Books)

16. The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q. Raúf (Orion’s Children’s Books)

17. Station Zero by Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press)

18. Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds, illustrated by Chris Priestley (Faber & Faber)

19. The Land of Neverendings by Kate Saunders (Faber & Faber)

20. Mud by Emily Thomas (Andersen Press)

There are definitely a couple of authors on this list that I recognise but I have not read even one of these books! Guess it is time to get busy!

Mrs K

 

Published by

Mrs K

A teacher and a book lover! A mother, a sister, a friend, a teacher, a daughter, a granddaughter. We get so busy so quickly it is nice to take the time to ponder and wonder and reflect!

8 thoughts on “CILIP Carnegie Longlist”

Leave a comment