Review: Moonrise

Moonrise Written by Sarah Crossan

So, having read the longlist for the CILIP Carnegie Medal this morning this was the first book I found that was in my school library. Wow. I have read a book by Sarah Crossan before, and know too that this is I think her third time being nominated for this award, and she has won once. So I knew before I began that she was a great author.

33837404This book solidly blew me away. It is written as poetry, or incomplete prose and it was amazing. So easy to read, and I anxiously read every page as they jumped from time period to time period as we went through the narrators memory.

It was so well written and generated a lot of empathy for the narrator. I cried at the end which is pretty rare for me.

I loved that each short chapter, which just described one short aspect of the narrators day or life or memory also left you thinking about some bigger ideas.

Two of my favourite pages (that do not give anything away) are these ones:

 

Overall these was an amazing read, and am so pleased that I started the long list with this book.

If you have time read it – it is a snapshot of life.

Mrs K

Genre: Slice of life, fiction, young adult, adolescent, poetry, contemporary, family

Published by

Mrs K

A teacher and a book lover! A mother, a sister, a friend, a teacher, a daughter, a granddaughter. We get so busy so quickly it is nice to take the time to ponder and wonder and reflect!