Book Review: Daindreth’s Assassin

Book 12 of 2024

Daindreth’s Assassin. Written by Elisabeth Wheatley. (#1 in series)

So I have followed Elisabeth Wheatley on insta for a long time – I really like her book goblin skits! I also secretly love the fact that her name is spelt with a ‘S’. Back from my teenage Sweet Valley University days I always wanted to call my kids Elisabeth and Jessamyn. Interestingly I didn’t use either name for my daughter, but have never forgotten.

On insta Wheatley talks openly about how she is inspired by the classics, the pride and prejudice and the likes. Which I think you can really see come through in her writing. I ultimately bought the book because I have seen her talk about it so much I was curious. I bought the second one because I really enjoyed the first one.

This is a romance that definitely leaves the writer wanting more, there are a lot of tantilising scenes that I certainly would have liked played out. Sometimes I struggled a bit with the character of the Assassin, in terms of she seemed a little inconsistent, but not so much that I could not hop on board. I really liked the premise of the story, and the ending and I look forward to seeing how it all plays out over the upcoming books.

Mrs K

Published by

Mrs K

A teacher and a book lover! A mother, a sister, a friend, a teacher, a daughter, a granddaughter. We get so busy so quickly it is nice to take the time to ponder and wonder and reflect!

Leave a comment